Latest News‎ > ‎

Senior Recognition Assembly

posted May 12, 2017, 10:45 AM by John Pearson
On Wed., May 10th, the Class of 2017 was recognized in front of the annual all-school Recognition Assembly, held in Memorial Gym. 

Many seniors were recognized as recipients of awards and college scholarships. Here are the award winners: 

Big Sisters Scholarship: Mackenize Munn and Lauren Robinson
Post-Dispatch Scholar-Athlete: Carly Campbell
U.S. Army Reserve Scholar-Athlete Award: Drew Sobol and Carly Campbell
East Alton Rotary Scholarship: Ashley Johnson and Mikayla Freeman
Merle Bassett Memorial Scholarship: Lauren Wayman
Shelter Insurance Scholarship: Lauren Robinson
Pump House Scholarship: Victoria Kallal and Joe Ziegler
Student Council Scholarship: Mackenzie Munn
Masonic Scholarship: Emilee Sabatino
Meghan Hickerson Christian Teen Leader Scholarship: Mackenzie Munn
East Alton American Legion Scholarship: Hannah Lamere and Brenden Allen
Shirley Thatcher Memorial Scholarship: Lauren Robinson
Midwest Credit Union Scholarship: Lauren Robinson
Midwest Credit Union "Oiler of the Month Scholarship: Brenden Allen
Marines All-American Award: Zach Kincade (Junior)
Senior Art Purchase Award: Cameron Brown
Scott King Memorial Scholarship: Raechel Springman
Toni Fry-Hilgert Memorial Scholarship: Marrisa Morrison
Wood River Lions Scholarship: Abigail Cathey
Wood River Rotary Scholarship: Raechel Springman and Brenden Allen
EAWR Educators Scholarship: Mackenzie Munn, Lauren Wayman, and Lauren Robinson
Orville & Kathleen Brunjes Scholarship: Marrisa Morrison
Wood River American Legion Howard Oetting Memorial Scholarship: Brenden Allen
DAR Award: Marrisa Morrison
SAR Award: Brenden Allen
Illinois State Scholars: Marrisa Morrison and Raechel Springman
Presidential Academic Award: Raechel Springman, Rachel Rodriguez, and Zach Hudson

Those entering into the military after graduation are: Brian Fudurich and Jake Roustio (Army National Guard) and Christian Hunter (U.S. Army - Active Duty)

The Class of 2017 Valedictorian, Marrisa Morrison, was introduced to the audience.

Mrs. Robinson recognized our two retiring faculty members: Susan Ledford (English) and David Sobol (Industrial Arts)

Also recognized were the Distinguished Graduates: Brenden Allen, Joel Biesk, Jesse Brewer, Caroline Campbell, Abigail Cathey, Kaylee Dailey, Brian Fudurich, Carissa Gilreath, Tyler Hayes, Sierra Henry, Hunter Jones, Hanna Lamere, Brianna Lewis, Katelyn Lindquist, Allison Mitchell, Marrisa Morrison, Mackenzie Munn, Timothy Oseland, Lauren Robinson, Rachel Rodriguez, Emilee Sabatino, Jordan Schmidgall, Haley Shewmake, Allison Shook, Amanda Smay, Emily Smith, Andrew Sobol, Raechel Springman, Brayden Stone, Jacob Vassos, Alyssa Volk, Lauren Wayman, Kaleigh Young, Joseph Ziegler.

Finally, the Class of 2017 selected two teachers to be the Senior Faculty Award winners. These two teachers will read the names of the graduates during Commencement on May 17th: Sarah Jones (Science) and Kelly Gardner (English).