Latest News‎ > ‎

Senior Assembly 2018

posted May 10, 2018, 9:50 AM by John Pearson   [ updated May 10, 2018, 1:48 PM ]
On Wed., May 9, 2018, EAWR held its annual Senior Recognition Assembly, to present seniors with scholarship checks, academic awards, and other special recognition. The assembly was presented in front of the entire student body, staff, and guests in the Memorial Gym. Student Council President Dalton Pryor led the assembly with the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by a brief moment of silence for fellow senior, Zach Wells, who had been injured the night before in an auto accident. 

Here is a list of the awards and their recipients:

Big Sisters Scholarship: Rachel Staten
Post-Dispatch Scholar-Athlete: Zach Kincade
Merle Bassett Memorial Scholarship: Rachel Staten
Brunjes Scholarships: Lukas Westbrook and Rachel Staten
Shelter Insurance Scholarship: Caitlyn Olinghouse 
Pump House Scholarships: Anthony Ellison and Joey Barnerd
Student Council Scholarship: Justin Englar
EAWR Football Scholarship: Zach Kincade and Justin Englar
East Alton American Legion Scholarships: Rachel Staten, Jacob Martin, Ashley Knight and Justin Englar
East Alton Rotary Scholarships: Hannah Overton and Alison Presley
Midwest Oiler of the Year Scholarship: Chase Wallendorff
Shirley Thatcher Memorial Scholarship (WR Women's Club): Caitlyn Olinghouse
Senior Art Purchase Award: Gracelin Rushing
Scott King Memorial Scholarship: Ty Dunn
Toni Fry-Hilgert Memorial Drama Scholarship: Ty Dunn
Nancy Harrison Memorial Scholarship: Joey Barnerd
Wood River Masonic Scholarship: Zach Kincade
Wood River Lions Scholarship: Rachel Staten
Wood River Rotary Scholarships: Lukas Westbrook, Bekah Null and Jacob Martin
EAWR Educators Scholarship: Emily Wilder
DAR Good Citizenship Award: Caitlyn Olinghouse
Elmer & Eunice St. Peters Scholarship: Rachel Staten

Also, several other accomplishments were recognized: 

Presidential Academic Awards
Anthony Ellison, Zach Kincade, Chase Wallendorff, Zach Womack, and Zach Wels

Silver Medallion Recipients
Xavier Collman, Jennifer Hallstead, Nicholas Hayes, Zachary Kincade, Ashley Knight, Rebekah Null, Rachel Staten, Chase Wallendorff, Zachary Wells, Zachary Womack

Distinguished GraduatesJoseph Barnerd, Courtney Bazzell, Adelynn Bentley, Austin Breckle, Xavier Collman, Anthony Ellison, Justin Englar, Ciara Evans, Delaney Gibbons, Jacob Hall, Nicholas Hayes, Zachary Kincade, Ashley Knight, Tristan Lawson, Sebastian Ledesma, Jacob Martin, organ Moxey, Ashton Murray, Rebecca Nottke, Caitlyn Olinghouse, Dalton Pryor, Darin Redden, Rachel Staten, Blake Unterbrink, Chase Wallendorf, Zachary Wells, Morgan Wiegand, Emily Wilder, Zaide Wilson, Zachary Womack

Those About to Enter the Military:
Erin Hall (US Air Force), Jennifer Hallstead (Army National Guard), Maddie Hampsey (Army National Guard), Jacob Mustain (US Navy), Kaitlyn Pickett (US Army), Brendan Walker (Army National Guard), Zach Wells (Army National Guard), and Jason Womack (Army National Guard).

Valedictorian: Rachel Staten

Senior Faculty Awards (selected by the Senior Class to Read Names at Graduation): Jesse Daniels, Kelly Green, and Mark Maendele