Latest News‎ > ‎

NHS Induction

posted Mar 13, 2015, 9:39 AM by John Pearson   [ updated Mar 13, 2015, 9:42 AM ]
Last night (March 12, 2015), the Velora Buscher Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 20 new members. The ceremony was attended by 110 family, friends, staff, and guests and was held to honor these students for their scholarship, service, leadership, and character. The existing senior members took turns in leading the new members' pledges; introducing new members and their accomplishments; interpreting the four qualifications for membership; handing out awards, and in welcoming and thanking guests. EAWR Board member Michelle St. Peters was on-hand to assist in the awards presentation. Dr. Pearson and Mrs. Robinson gave remarks, as well. 

The guest speaker is almost always an alumnus of EAWR, with this year's speaker being Kerry Studnicki (1999) who is a registered pharmacist in Alton and the grandson of former superintendent, Mr. Henry Studnicki. Mr. Studnicki gave a talk regarding his personal experiences in the context of NHS ideals and was warmly received by those in attendance.

The NHS Inductees for 2015 are: Courtney Beneke, Caleb Bentley, Tori Covington, Christin Faulstich, Samuel fillop, Cameron Foust, Colin Gibbons, Katherine Hall, Kelsey Hauser, Lori Hickerson, Haley Kerpan, Megan King, Blake Marks, Heather Martin, Harlie Mitchell, Emilee Olinghouse, Lauren Reynolds, Michelle Seitzinger, and Riley Wallendorf

Current members of the National Honor Society are: Emilie Anderson, Victoria Beachum, Caitlyn Bridgeman, Nicholas Daily, Brandon Ennis, Brett Gaines, Jonna Hambrick, Travis Koogler, Brandi Lacey, Alexander Pugh, Taylor Quigley, Kayli Staten, Brittanie Swarringin, Anna Tomblingson, Jenna Walker, and Kari Westbrook

The NHS Faculty Committee was: Mrs. Lisa Woodman, Chair; Mrs. Donna Blackwell; Ms. Cari Cari Mueller; Mrs. Lee Ann Parmentier, and Mrs. Leigh Robinson


The Induction Class of 2015                                                                    The Current (2014) Members of NHS

[Click on each photo to enlarge]